NDRIN Quarterly Meeting

NDACo Building

October 22nd, 2019

1. Call to order:

Lisa Guenther called the quarterly meeting of the NDRIN board to order at 10:00 a.m., CST, On October 22nd, 2019, at the North Dakota Association of Counties building, 1661 Capitol Way, Bismarck, ND 58502.

2. Attendees:

The following persons and/or county member were present: Mike Steiner, Carrie Krause, Katie Nadeau, Nancy Seefeldt, Kim Kasian, Betty Braun, Vicki Kubat, Danielle Petersen, Anita Ibach, Sarah Bruce, Deb Moeller, Julie Fischer, Debbie Kroshus, Shelly Schwab, Michelle Newman and Jackie Babbitt. Board members present were: Lisa Guenther, Patty Hilbert, Lynelle Lyman Hoppe, Chris Johnson and Alison Toepke.

3. Motion made by Patty Hilbert to approve the minutes from July 10th, 2019, seconded by Alison Toepke. Motion carried.

4. NDRIN Issues:

- A. NDRIN Subscriber Update: 2019 statistics were reviewed by Mike. Numbers were down insignificantly. No questions.
- B. 2019 Budget Review: The budget ran over due to computers purchased. No questions.
- C. 2019 NDRIN Expense Report: There were no questions on the Expense Report.
- D. 2020 NDRIN Budget Review: The proposed budget was approved. Discussion regarding Microfilming cost line item is due to it being done in January 2020 regarding exports through December 31, 2019.
- E. Election of Officers for 2020: Danielle Petersen volunteered for the 2nd member at large and with no other nominations, Patty Hilbert made a motion to appoint Danielle Petersen as 2nd member at large. Lynelle Lyman Hoppe 2nd the motion. Motion carried. Motion to approve new officers made by Alison Toepke and 2nd by Lynelle Lyman Hoppe. Patty Hilbert President, Chris Johnson-Vice President, Lynelle Lyman Hoppe-Secretary, Alison Toepke- 1st Member at Large and Danielle Petersen-2nd Member at Large. Motion carried.

5. NDRIN Project Updates:

- A. Switching Servers: Mike gave an update on the network Disaster Recovery protocol they did this summer, in event any failure occurred. The down time was 11 minutes to transfer to alternate server and he had no reports of any notice of it at the time.
- B. Microfilming: We need a retake and drop dead date timeline established as microfilming ends on documents exported through December 31, 2019. Lisa will send out a letter stating all 2019 documents to be exported by January 10th, 2020. Recorders will have 30 days from shipping of

microfilm to review and notify NDRIN if any retakes are needed. March 1st will be the drop dead date. Deb Kroshus reported the State Historical Society was excited about getting the micro machine. It is being donated to them as we no longer have any need for it. She will inform them of a projected date of April for transfer.

6. NDRIN Misc. Issues

A. There was discussion on the Western Development Agency having misinformation regarding NDRIN. Discussion on more marketing and information getting out there. To reiterate, 2020 copy revenue will be returned at 100 percent.

A motion was made by Alison Toepke to return the NDRIN Refund to counties at 90 percent. Lynelle Lyman Hoppe 2nd the motion and it carried.

7. NDRIN Joint Powers Agreement Voting Results:

A. A roll call vote was requested to approve the proposed changes to the JPA. A total of 42 votes were case. 41 votes were in favor of the proposed changes, 1 vote against proposed changes. Motion made and carried by the board to change the JPA. Effective January 2020, 100% of all generated print revenue will be returned to each county every year. The December 2019 check for July through December 2019 will be refunded at 90%.

8. Other Misc. Issues:

- A. Mike discussed an email received from Whiney Radcliff- Yardi Matric regarding the use of data collected from the NDRIN site regarding real estate records. After discussion it was decided Mike will respond that we have no control over what they do with the information after data is collected.
- B. Mike and recorders thanked Lisa Guenther for a job well done as president.

9. Questions and Answers: none

10. Next Meeting:

- A. Wednesday, January 8th, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. Central time at the NDACo building in Bismarck, ND.
- B. Patty Hilbert moved to adjourn and Alison Toepke 2nd the motion. Motion carried.

Respectfully,

Chris Johnson/Secretary